Section Menu


Ruth Reimer – Citizen of the Year

August 28, 2019

The Citizen of the Year award is presented to an individual who continually gives of themselves and helps many others in the process.

 At the core of Winkler are inspiring people who live here. The people who motivate and take action; who get involved and make a difference. They are the ordinary extraordinary; the behind-the-scenes catalysts; the connectors and the motivators.

“The Winkler Community Foundation is excited to announce Mrs. Ruth Reimer as the 2019 Citizen of the Year for Winkler.  Ruth has been selected for her work with Katie Cares and Katie’s Cottage. Ruth’s passion has impacted so many people as they journey through health challenges with loved ones. Her impact has also spread to children and youth as they have been inspired to organize their own fundraisers in effort to fulfill Katie’s dream and help fund Katie Cares projects.” – Scott Doell, Winkler Community Foundation President.

The Citizen of the Year, once again, will have the opportunity to present the Citizen of the Year Choice grant of $1000 to a charitable organization of his choice at the banquet.

Mrs. Ruth Reimer will be honored at the 2019 Citizen of the Year Banquet at the Days Inn Conference Centre on Thursday, October 3, 2019. This year’s speaker will be Chris Koch (pronounced Cook). Chris Koch, a farm boy turned world traveler, has set out on his latest adventure bringing his “If I Can” message global. Chris was born without arms or legs. His family could have treated his disability like a total tragedy but instead chose to take it all in stride and make the best of the situation. Chris has not let limitations or obstacles in his life stand in the way of achieving his goals and dreams and he encourages others to do the same. (information taken from website:

Tickets are available through the Winkler Community Foundation office located in Winkler City Hall, by calling the office at 204-362-9292 or emailing


Stories coming soon!


2023 Community Grant Applications

Deadline: April 15, 2023

2023 Gordon Wiebe Award Applications

Deadline: February 28, 2023